



Decision 2022-11 of the Presidium of the Boards of Appeal of 5 July 2022 on Mediators

("Decision on Mediators")

THE PRESIDIUM OF THE BOARDS OF APPEAL

Having regard to Regulation (EU) 2017/1001 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 14 June 2017 on the European Union trade mark (EUTMR)¹, and in particular Articles 47(4), 64(4) and 170 thereof,

Having regard to Council Regulation (EC) No 6/2002 of 12 December 2001 on Community Designs² and Commission Regulation (EC) No 2245/02 of 21 October 2002 implementing the Council Regulation (EC) No 6/2002² (CDR), and in particular Article 31(5) thereof,

Having regard to Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2018/625 of 5 March 2018 supplementing Regulation (EU) 2017/1001 of the European Parliament and of the Council on the European Union trade mark, and repealing Delegated Regulation (EU) 2017/1430³(EUTMDR), and in particular Article 46(1) thereof,

Having regard to Directive 2008/52/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 21 May 2008 on certain aspects of mediation in civil and commercial matters⁴ (Mediation Directive),

Having regard to Regulation (EU) 2018/1725 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 23 October 2018 on the protection of natural persons with regard to the processing of personal data by the Union institutions, bodies, offices and agencies and on the free movement of such data, and repealing Regulation (EC) No 45/2001 and Decision No 1247/2002/EC⁵ (EU Institutions GDPR),

Having regard to the European Code of Conduct for Mediators⁶,

Whereas:

(1) Pursuant to Article 7(2) of the decision of the Presidium of the Boards of Appeal No 2013-3 of 5 July 2013 on the amicable settlement of disputes ('Decision on Mediation') the Presidium is responsible for the establishment of the list of qualified EUIPO staff, who are suitably prepared to intervene in mediation proceedings in the sense of the decision;

¹ OJ L 154, 16.6.2017, p.1.

² OJ L 3, 5.1.2002, p. 1 as last amended by Council Regulation (EC) No 1891/2006, OJ L 386, 29.12.2006, p.14. ³ OJ L 341, 17.12.2002, p. 28, as last amended by Commission Regulation (EC) No 876/2007, OJ L 193, 25.7.2007, p. 13.

⁴ OJ L 136, 24.5.2008, p. 3–8.

⁵ OJ L 295, 21.11.2018, p. 39-98.

⁶ CEPEJ(2018)24 - Adopted at the 31st plenary meeting of the CEPEJ (EUROPEAN COMMISSION FOR THE EFFICIENCY OF JUSTICE), Strasbourg, 3-4 December 2018.



BOARDS OF APPEAL

- (2) In view of the increasing volume and language spread of the mediation files, the number of mediators needs to be reinforced by trained and accredited mediators, that may cover a broad range of language skills;
- (3) A number of the Office's staff members have recently undergone mediation training;

HAS ADOPTED THE FOLLOWING DECISION:

Article 1 Appointment

The Presidium appoints the following staff members of the Office as Mediators:

- 1. Epameinondas Giannopoulos
- 2. Laura González Paterna
- 3. Holger Peter Kunz
- 4. María Soledad Orts Moreno
- 5. Rebecca Julia Santana Davies
- 6. Emilie Scheffer

Article 2 List of Mediators

As a result of the appointments made in the previous article, the updated list of Mediators established by the Presidium is as follows:

- 1. María Luisa Aranda Sales
- 2. Nunzio Bambara
- 3. Christoph Bartos
- 4. Kirsten Bauch
- 5. Sophia Bonne
- 6. Maria Bra
- 7. Aleiandro Camacho González
- 8. Alexandra Crawcour
- 9. Thomas Frydendahl
- 10. Julia García Murillo
- 11. Plamena Georgieva
- 12. Epameinondas Giannopoulos
- 13. Laura González Paterna
- 14. Gordon Humphreys
- 15. Jiří Jirsa
- 16. Natalia Kapetanaki
- 17. Andrej Kralik
- 18. Philipp von Kapff



BOARDS OF APPEAL

- 19. Holger Peter Kunz
- 20. Arkadiusz Makar
- 21. Goran Marjanović
- 22. Virginia Melgar
- 23. Klaudia Misztal
- 24. Stefano Di Natale
- 25. Cinzia Negro
- 26. Helen Louise Oliver Faulkner
- 27. Maria Soledad Orts Moreno
- 28. Sophie Pétrequin
- 29. Stefania Papadopoulou
- 30. André Pohlmann
- 31. Inês Isabel Ribeiro Da Cunha
- 32. Carmen Sánchez Palomares
- 33. Rebecca Julia Santana Davies
- 34. Susy Scardocchia
- 35. Emilie Scheffer
- 36. Kamar Sidat Humphreys
- 37. Javier Soriano Gonzalvo
- 38. Antje Söder
- 39. Iveta Plamenova Stoycheva
- 40. Sven Stürmann
- 41. Katarzyna Zajfert

Article 3 Entry into force

This Decision shall enter into force on the day of its publication in the Official Journal of the Office.

This Decision repeals Decision 2021-18 of the Presidium of the Boards of Appeal of 2 December 2021 on Mediators.

Done at Alicante, 5 July 2022

For the Presidium João Negrão President of the Boards of Appeal