EUIPO logo

Applications for the DesignEuropa 2023 were open from October 2022-March 2023

How to apply

Applications for the DesignEuropa Awards 2023 were open from 20 October 2022 to 10 March 2023.

It was possible to:

Nominate a design

Nominate a design for the Industry or Small and Emerging Companies Award.

Nominate a designer

Nominate a person as a candidate for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Submit your design

Apply to the Awards 2023 with your own designs.

Three Design Europa Awards categories visual: wood texture, metal texture and glass texture
Rules of the DesignEuropa Awards

We would like to kindly ask you to read the rules of participation in the DesignEuropa Awards before you fill in the form. Please note that mandatory fields are marked with an asterisk.

Application process

The DesignEuropa Awards take place every two years. The competition is open to any person, entity or institution of any nationality, either individually or as a team, provided that they own a valid RCD that is also marketed and sold (in any country).

All designs submitted must be valid RCDs at the time of sending the application, with no pending invalidity proceedings. Finalist designs must retain their validity throughout the selection and award period.

Entries may be submitted either on the candidate's own initiative, at the behest of the Awards' promoters or by any other person, entity or institution that wishes to propose a candidate.


The process of selecting the DesignEuropa Awards 2023 winners are conducted by following the steps below.

  • Acceptance of applications and nominations
  • Shortlisting
  • Jury evaluation and decision
  • Announcement of finalists
  • Announcement of winners

Process specifications by categories

Organised every two years by the EUIPO, the awards are divided into the following three categories:

Applications for the Industry Award and the Small and Emerging Company Award.

Applications can be submitted by the owners of the RCD themselves via the application form. RCDs entered for the competition must be marketed by the owner of the design or a design licensee. Applicants can submit up to five entries (one RCD per entry), provided that each RCD has been designed by a different designer or by a team of designers with at least one different member.