Mur fil-paġna ewlenija
Ipproteġi l-marki kummerċjali u d-disinji tiegħek fl-Unjoni Ewropea

Ipproteġi l-proprjetà intellettwali tiegħek fl-Unjoni Ewropea


Il-kontenut ta' din il-paġna huwa disponibbli biss English, Español, Deutsch, Français u Italiano.


We are a decentralised agency of the European Union, created to offer IP protection to businesses and innovators across the EU and beyond.

The EUIPO's decision-making process combines transparency with a commitment to our users.

Governance meeting at OHIM

The Council of the European Union decides on the appointment of our Executive Director, our Deputy Executive Director, and the President and Chairpersons of the Boards of Appeal. The Executive Director is responsible for the running of the EUIPO. The governance structure of the EUIPO consists of a Management Board and a Budget Committee, each composed of one representative from each Member State, two representatives from the European Commission and one representative from the European Parliament. The EUIPO enjoys legal, administrative and financial autonomy.


Structure of the Management Board (known as Administrative Board until 23 March 2016)

Mr Jorma Hanski

Director of Patents and Trade Marks at the Finnish Patent and Registration Office

Deputy Chairperson
Mr Dermot Doyle

Head of Trade Marks & Designs Division of the Intellectual Property Office of Ireland

The functions of the Management Board are defined in Articles 124 to 127 of the European Union trade mark regulation and Regulation Nº MB-01-16 of the Management Board of the European Union Intellectual Property Office.

More information

Structure of the Budget Committee

Mr Sandris Laganovskis

Director of the Patent Office of the Republic of Latvia

Deputy Chairperson
Mr Philippe Cadre

Director of the Industrial Property Department of INPI France


The functions of the Budget Committee are defined in Articles 138 to 144c of the European Union trade mark regulation and Regulation Nº BC-01-16 of the Budget Committee of the European Union Intellectual Property Office.

More information


Representatives of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) and the Benelux Office for Intellectual Property (BOIP) have participated as observers in the meetings of the Management Board (MB) since 1995 and in those of the Budget Committee (BC) since 2010. A representative of the European Patent Office (EPO) has also been attending MB meetings since 2011. The Community Plant Variety Office (CPVO) was granted observer status in November 2017 and has participated in both MB and BC meetings since June 2018.

In 2008 the MB and in January 2010 the BC granted permanent observer status to five organisations that represent users — the International Trademark Association (INTA), BUSINESSEUROPE, MARQUES, the European Communities Trade Mark Association (ECTA) and the European Brands Association (AIM). This status has been confirmed by both the MB and the BC for the period 2020-2025.

In 2011 additional non-permanent observer seats were added to the MB and BC. For the period 2020-2025 the MB and BC have given the following user associations the option of attending their meetings on a rotational basis: in 2020 the International Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (AIPPI) and the Association of Trade Mark and Design Law Practitioners (APRAM); in 2021 the Chartered Institute of Trade Mark Attorneys (CITMA) and the Committee of National Institutes of Intellectual Property Attorneys (CNIPA); in 2022 the International Federation of Intellectual Property Attorneys (FICPI) and the German Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (GRUR); in 2023 the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) and the AIPPI; in 2024 the APRAM and the CITMA; and in 2025 the CNIPA and the FICPI.

The Secretariat for both the MB and the BC is provided by the EUIPO.


Il-paġna ġiet aġġornata l-aħħar 30-06-2017
Aħna nużaw il-cookies fuq is-sit web tagħna biex jappoġġaw karatteristiċi tekniċi li jtejbu l-esperjenza tiegħek bħala utent. Nużaw ukoll l-analitika. Għal aktar informazzjoni kklikkja