Go to home page
EUIPO
Protect your trade marks and designs in the European Union

Protect your intellectual property in the European Union

Menu

Drafts

A draft is an application that has been saved but not yet submitted. In this case, it refers to European Union trade mark (EUTM), registered Community design (RCD) and other efiling applications.

Drafts section in the User Area
 

To access the Drafts section, click on the 'Drafts' tab in the side menu of your User Area.

There are three tabs in the Drafts section of the User Area:

  • EU trade marks
  • Other efilings (Others)
  • Registered Community designs (RCD)

Note: Drafts will be deleted after 30 days; choose the 'lock' option to save after this time frame. RCD drafts, however, cannot be locked and will always be deleted after seven days.

 
  • 'Actions' tabs

    Below is a list of the action tabs (and their functions) available in the Drafts section.

    Send to email account
    You can send a copy of the draft information to an email address of your choice (multiple selections are possible). To carry out this action, tick the text box on the left-hand side of the row in the table to select the item(s) required, then click on the 'Send to email account' button. Enter the recipient's email address in the corresponding field in the modal pop-up and add a note if you wish.

    Delete
    If you need to delete a draft there are two ways of doing it:

    1. Click on the grey waste-paper basket icon on the right-hand side of the table with your chosen draft(s). You will be asked if you want to continue and can then choose to 'Cancel' the action or 'Delete' the draft.
    2. Select the tick box in the row with the item that you want to delete and click on the delete button. A pop-up will appear, allowing you to choose between accepting and declining the deletion.

    Lock
    Trade mark drafts are deleted after 30 days; if you need to save a draft after this time frame you can lock it.

    Note: Registered Community design application drafts cannot be locked and will always be deleted after seven days.

    There are two ways of locking a draft:

    1. Click on the grey padlock icon on the right-hand side of the table with your chosen draft(s). This will turn a darker shade of grey, indicating that the item is now locked.
    2. Select the tick box in the row with the item you want to lock and click on the lock button. The grey padlock icon on the right-hand side of the row will turn a darker shade of grey, indicating that the item is now locked.

    Unlock
    When you don't need your draft any longer you can unlock it. There are two ways of doing this:

    1. Click on the grey padlock icon on the right-hand side of the table with your chosen draft(s). This will turn a lighter shade of grey, indicating that the item is now unlocked.

    2. Select the tick box in the row with the item you want to unlock and click on the unlock button. The grey padlock icon on the right-hand side of the row will turn a lighter shade of grey, indicating that the item is now unlocked.

    Notes
    To add a note, click on the 'Add a note' icon. A modal pop-up will appear. Add your note and save.

  • Restore application

    To restore a previous application select the relevant item in the table and click on the page icon in the 'Actions' column. The saved application will open in a new window.

  • Quick search field

    You can search within your drafts, using the same functionality as the Basic Search in eSearch plus, but applied to information displayed in the Draft module. The search will only obtain results from the tab to which the search is applied.

    Enter alphanumeric characters in the search field.

Page last updated 24-02-2018
We use cookies on our website to support technical features that enhance your user experience. We also use analytics. Click for more information