Go to home page
Protect your trade marks and designs in the European Union

Protect your intellectual property in the European Union




As from January 2010, all new webpages of the European institutions have to be created in compliancy with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0, level AA.

Web accessibility aims at enabling all users to have equal access to information and functionalities on the web. More specifically, Web accessibility means that people with all abilities and disabilities can perceive, understand, navigate, and interact with the Web.

According to the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities that has been signed by the European Union, persons with disabilities include those who have long-term physical, mental, intellectual or sensory impairments which in interaction with various barriers may hinder their full and effective participation in society on an equal basis with others.

Internet users can experience problems when using the web because of different kinds of disabilities, functional limitations, environmental factors or technology matters:

  • Persons with disabilities: visual, auditory, physical, cognitive
  • Older persons, low literacy, others
  • Technology-related limitations or incompatibility: browsers, platforms, devices, mobile web
  • Environmental factors: place, illumination, noise, slow connection

Source: European Commission – Information Providers guide

For technical reasons the following pages are not compliant with WCAG 2.0:

  • Pages containing videos
  • Online forms
Page last updated 13-02-2019
We use cookies on our website to support technical features that enhance your user experience. We also use analytics. Click for more information